Training the Trainer

Are you a trainer/teacher or aspiring to be one? If yes, then you’ve chosen a noble profession! However, the more important question is – can you train / teach effectively?

For instance, if a person has installed and has used lots of software, does it follow that he or she knows how to write code? If a person has been to different places and buildings, does that mean that he or she can be an architect? Whilst the answers to these are ridiculously obvious, why do some people believe that just because they’ve taken classes on a particular subject, they can teach the subject effectively? Avengers, we have a problem!

Last month, I delivered a training of trainers to a group of technical people who represent different campus units. These selected representatives will then be delivering ICT productivity tools training to their faculty and staff while applying what they have learned from the training of trainers.

Drafting the outline of the training plan was hard at first because I was so used to teaching undergraduate education students in the UP College of Education wherein the objective is to learn how to use a tool for teaching. The objective for a trainer’s trainer is different because you have to train them how to train or teach properly. I drafted my training plan and then consulted one of my professors in my area, and as a result, a book was recommended to me. Yey!

The book that I got was Training the trainer: Performance-based training for today’s workplace by M.J. Dolasinski. Luckily, my initial draft of the training plan was almost parallel to the outline discussed on the book. I’m very glad that I had attended 3 MA classes of Dr. Adriano, a professor from the UP College of Education in which she thought me and emphasized the importance of careful planning, instructional events, as well as the attitudes in teaching.

I tried my best to apply all of the knowledge, skills, and attitudes I have learned from all of my EDTECH, EDCS (Curriculum Studies), and EDFD (Foundations) courses on the training plan and on the actual training. So guess what, the training was very successful, effective, and enjoyable at the same time! The participants enjoyed the training especially the activities that highly engaged them throughout the session.

If you want to view how teaching or training should be done with content and technology, you should read more about Technological Pedagogical Content Knowledge (or TPACK). Some trainers who already have the content and technological knowledge forget about the importance of pedagogical knowledge, the most crucial factor to teaching or training effectively.

So I would like to end this post through a quote from my reference book:

“Every time you teach poorly, you are creating a future problem. Every time you teach well, you are solving a future problem.” – UCLA Office of Instructional Development.

Good trainers and teachers will always be good problem solvers.

2 comments on “Training the Trainer

  1. Awesome blog. Keep posting! I’m a teacher on blended learning here in the Philippines and your site is evidence that we can integrate technology in the class or in learning…and I get to learn too! Thanks for this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

